On your fitness journey you will be inspired to try new forms of exercise.  Some of these experiences will be awesome.  You will find new avenues to explore your fitness and develop your strength.  And then there will be times where you literally think “wtf am I doing?”  This was me with Aerial yoga.

FullSizeRender (21)

To be fair, I have nothing against Aerial yoga for other people.  There are many benefits to Aerialyoga similar to other forms of yoga such as flexibility and core strength. Aerial yoga also provides the added benefits of inversion, which helps with spinal decompression.  Hanging upside down will also stimulate your vestibular system (the part of your inner ear that helps with balance).  This can be a great way to alleviate back or neck pain, improve flexibility, get some deep stretching and recovery from more challenging workouts, and improve balance and inner ear function.

On the other hand, it might just make you nauseous for several hours afterward.  This was the case with me.  The hanging upside was extremely uncomfortable to me due to the intense head rush.  I am not a huge fan of traditional forms of yoga to begin with (that’s right I said it) so I didn’t really get a kick out of being sick to my stomach in addition to doing yoga.  This doesn’t mean that yoga or Aerial yoga is bad for you or you should be insulted if you are a fan of any of these forms of exercise.  If you think that you could benefit from any of the positive outcomes I mentioned earlier, then by all means, knock yourself out and get your upside down yogi on.  I will be keeping my feet on the floor from now on.


Kristine

8 Comments

  1. Tough Lotus

    August 6, 2015

    Thank you for trying a class at Tough Lotus. As with any new fitness activity, one can experience discomfort until you are used to the activity. We spend a great deal of time discussing reactions your vestibular system can have to inversion and movement. We also discuss that this feeling goes away more than 95% of the time after 3 classes. New activities can be challenging but the benefits outweigh the initial discomfort…just like all activities that are new to your kinetic chain. Thanks again for coming.

  2. Dottie

    August 6, 2015

    I’ve been going to Tough Lotus for a few years now and love it (used to go to Lifetime Fitness). I experienced some elements of discomfort in the beginning but attributed it to starting a new activity and using parts of my body that had never been used before. There’s always a learning curve when starting anything new and I would never make judgements about or give up on an activity without giving it a fair shot. Aerial fitness at Tough Lotus is yoga, Pilates and weight training combined. I know I am stronger, more flexible and better for it. Anyone can be “tough” if they want to be!

    • Kristine

      August 6, 2015

      I think it’s great that you found aerial fitness as your activity to stay healthy. We may not be fans of all types of fitness but we do believe the most important thing is enjoying what you are doing. With that said, to say to “give it a fair shot” without judgement is unreasonable. Nobody is going to pay for a program or service to be “fair”. Nichole was simply stating that this wasn’t for her but it may appeal to others looking for specific benefits. Whether it’s yoga, crossfit, Zumba or aerial fitness a person knows after one session if this is their thing and there is nothing wrong saying that it isn’t.

  3. Jolie

    August 7, 2015

    I just finished reading your blog and I am a bit angry. I am a 4; year old woman and I suffer from Epilepsy and Vertigo. In the midst of a grand mal seizure 7years ago I fell head first into a concrete floor. The blow to my head knocked calcium loose from the fibers in my left ear, and I’ve never been quite the same since. I started doing aerial fitness specifically to conquer my issues with balance and dizziness and it has changed my life.

    Correcting your vestibular system doesn’t happen during a 1 hour introduction course, it has to be worked on diligently. I assume any type of exercise doesn’t work after the first hour, it is persistence that creates a change.

    I don’t think it is fair, if you are an expert in fitness, to make assumptions after one hour. Not only can I ride roller coasters again, but the strength that I’ve acquired is a seperate bonus all together. I’ve shed 7 pounds and have the physique that I never imagined my body could have, especially at 44.

    My challenge to you would be for you to invest your time and take five classes. Two balanced lotus and Three tough lotus in ten days. I am willing to pay for all five classes out of my own pocket. My goal is for you to truly see what Manie does. If your opinion remains the same, than it will be backed up by your reasearch and and no one can argue your opinion.

    Please accept my offer, these classes have improved my life and I know you will see what I mean.

    I kindly thank you for your time,
    Jolie Grant

    • Kristine

      August 7, 2015

      Why are you taking it personally if someone left the class not feeling it was for them? This article didn’t speak so negatively of Marnie, aerial fitness or tough lotus. I don’t understand why everyone is so caught up in the fact that Nichole’s opinion of the class determined that this wasn’t HER form of fitness and completely ignore how she mentioned that this can benefit someone else.

      I am sincerely happy that you found something to empower you after your fall. One of the worst things is to not feel that you have control over your body and health. I hope that everyone can find that, but I could give two shits on what that platform is as long as they are happy and healthy. That is why I do what I do – to help people feel empowered to find their healthy but it doesn’t mean they are going to enjoy the way I work out.

      Fitness isn’t black and white and there isn’t one way to do something. That doesn’t take away benefits to each format but not everyone is going to love it. Every single person leaves that class either loving it, hating it or feeling indifferent.

      When I first started my fitness journey I decided I wanted to try and train for a half marathon. I quit after a couple weeks and absolutely hated it. Are you telling me that I needed to give it a full month to get a real feel for training to determine this is something I enjoyed? I am very competitive and thought I would enjoy cross fit. I took two classes and two different locations and left feeling indifferent. Was I suppose to give it a couple more sessions to figure out if this was my cup of tea? You don’t need to be a professional in the industry to determine if something is for you or not.

      Every single person that leaves that class (or any class for that matter) leaves with an opinion – they love it, hate it or could do with out it. The beauty of fitness is that we have so many things we can do to stay healthy. We have options because people are different, seek different goals and enjoy different ways of getting there. Trying to convince someone to love what you love or even like what you love is the complete opposite of being a professional in this industry which you seem to question based off this article.

      Thank you for your offer, but your money would be better spent on someone with an interest in this format but might not be able to afford it. Helping someone finding what you have from what you do is a better way to spread your passion of your fitness then to convince someone else that they are wrong for not loving it as much as you.

  4. SUSAN

    August 7, 2015

    Tough Louts has given me a new lease on life. I was involved in an accident several years ago which greatly affected by lower back and knees. Being on the downhill slide of turning 70, I did not mend, bend or even move well. This class has afforded me the ability to do deep knee bends, back bends again as well as improve my core strength and posture. The inversion has improved my lymphatic system and my eye sight. Granted, like all new forms of sports or activities, it took a few classes to become comfortable with the different moves, I have not been to a chiropractor since beginning Tough Lotus two years ago. I feel so fortunate to have discovered this wonderful class.

  5. Kristine

    August 7, 2015

    It’s very clear that the owner of Tough Lotus is sending people over to defend Tough Lotus and what they do. Feel free to use this as a Yelp review as we don’t have issues with the opinion of others regarding their love for this format, but it’s clear that it cannot be the other way around.

    We specifically didn’t mention Tough Lotus or the owner in the article because Nichole’s experience wasn’t a reflection of the owner and the program. If you want a review on how we were welcomed then we can easily do that too.

  6. Nichole

    August 8, 2015

    Thank you all for your comments and taking the time to visit our page. As I clearly stated in the review (if you took the time to read it) there are many great benefits to aerial fitness. I did not make any attempt to discredit aerial fitness or deter anyone from trying it. In fact, I encouraged individuals to attempt it for themselves and see if it was something they enjoyed.

    The simple fact remains that I did not personally enjoy this form of fitness. It was not in any way a personal attack on the owner, studio, customers, or aerial fitness as a form of exercise. I am happy to hear that many people have found great physical benefits from their time spent at tough lotus. It is a very empowering feeling to find something that fixes your physical ailments and enriches your health. My personal choice not to return to the studio is just that: my CHOICE.

    The fitness world can be very cliquish at times with individuals feeling that their preferred form of exercise is the best one out there. All this means is that it was best for you. This does not mean that we all have to love what you love. It is possible to do what you enjoy without being insulting to others for having a different opinion.

    To claim that I enjoyed something (when I actually didn’t) would be a false representation and not at all honest. The intention of this page is not to endorse certain forms of fitness but to provide unbiased information for people to use at their discretion. If you enjoy aerial fitness feel free to keep doing it. I will continue to experience different forms of exercise and doing the things I love while being respectful to those whose opinion may differ from my own.

    Feel free to visit our page in the future for more fitness reviews. You may find something new that interests you.

LEAVE A COMMENT

RELATED POSTS